Monday, January 30

I was going to take a rest day today, but apparently it’s going to snow tomorrow, so I ran today instead. With luck, we’ll only get a dusting! LOL

I went out around 3.05 p.m. It was partly cloudy and 35°F, with a humidity of 35 percent, a dew point of 10°F, and winds WNW at 10 mph (wind chill of 28°F).

I walked for 2 minutes,
ran for 31 minutes,
then walked home for a total of 34 minutes.

Run time: 31 minutes

Walk time: 3 minutes

Postlude

I wasn’t going to say anything, but the real reason I was going to take a “rest” day is as follows.

This morning I had an appointment with our local Department of Labor office, as I am currently collecting unemployment. I was hoping I would learn some new things, and I did. But as I had my one-on-one interview with a DOL employee, he reminded me that I look great on paper. However, it’s very difficult for me to translate that to a working resume. Fortunately they have classes (for which I’ll be signing up – classes on resume writing, LinkedIn, skills inventory, etc.), but for some reason it makes me stressed as I can’t seem to find a good fit/job for me. Not only that, but I feel like I look better on paper than in real life. I have both a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree and a wide variety of skills. Hopefully the classes they offer will help. But I deal with feelings of inadequacy and being overwhelmed all the time, and it’s frustrating. Usually, I force myself to run to get rid of those feelings that weigh me down.

2 thoughts on “Monday, January 30

  1. All the best for the job hunting Miss E. I hope that the classes help you get that job that is right for you. From your running and posting I see a committed, dedicated and disciplined runner. Any workforce would be blessed to have you. Make sure you put your running on your resume!

Looking forward to your thoughts!

