Saturday, March 19

So, it’s been kind of a hectic week.

Monday, March 14

So, I was on the treadmill, expecting to do my usual half hour. However, I only got into minute 21 (or so), so I only did this:

I walked for 4 minutes;
ran for 5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 5 minutes.

Run time: 15 minutes:

Walk time: 6 minutes

I got a call while I was using the treadmill – I now have a part-time job with the county! (For those who don’t live in the United States, the states are divided into smaller counties, governmentally speaking. So in terms of size, from large to small, it’s the U.S. > U.S. state > state counties > towns, cities, villages.) Yay me!

Of course, working for the government means that you have to do some things before actually working, like getting a background check done. So, I had my fingerprints taken – and imagine my surprise when they did it digitally! I should have figured that technology would upgrade even that! Anyways, I begin work on Monday!

Wednesday, March 16

I went walking with my friend at Vassar Farms. Then I went kayaking with my friend on Wappingers Creek. We kayaked to the Hudson River, which is blocked by Metro North’s Hudson Line, which is the train that goes into Manhattan. The water was really low, and it was too early for the vegetation to start, so we got to see some wrecks that we haven’t been able to see beforehand. We even saw a muskrat – I saw him swimming along, and he stopped at some trees in the river (pics below).

This is a video of the train:

You can see the dirt area before the bridge – the water is really low.

This is one of the wooden barges, which likely sailed in the early 1900s.

This is one of the wooden barges, which likely sailed in the early 1900s.

Another wreck near the Hudson River.

Another wreck near the Hudson River.

Me, in action.

Me, in action.

Muskrat! In the middle of the “triangle.”

A larger (and blurrier) picture of the muskrat.

A larger (and blurrier) picture of the muskrat.

Muskrats and beavers are very similar, and at first I thought it was a beaver, as there are beavers on the Wappingers Creek. However, this fella’s nose was a little more pointy, and his tail was similar to a rat’s tail (except it was black), so it was definitely a muskrat. I loved watching him swim in the water!

Saturday, March 19

I went on the treadmill again.

I walked for 4 minutes;
ran for 5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 5 minutes;
then walked until I hit the 30 minute mark.

Run time: 20 minutes

Walk time: 10 minutes

I hope y’all are having a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Saturday, March 19

Looking forward to your thoughts!

