The “flying by the seat of your pants” wine spritzer

So, I spent the better part of the last night looking at (and pinning) recipes for wine spritzers and sangrias.

Why? I love a good bottle of wine, but unfortunately my taste runs in the $$$ dollar range. This isn’t very sustainable in the long run. Also, it’s summer! Who doesn’t enjoy a cool drink?

So, after perusing multiple recipes, I went to the store (both liquor and grocery!) and bought some moscato wine and pinot grigio. I kind of screwed up with the pinot grigio – I meant to get sauvignon blanc and forgot (this is what happens when you don’t have a list!). However, I’ll let you know if the pinot grigio works!

Then I went to the grocers and picked up some lemons, limes, strawberries, raspberries, mint, lemon seltzer, and lime seltzer. I went with the Polar brand of seltzer because there’s no sugar in it. When I got home, I put everything in the refrigerator so it would be nice and cold when I was ready.

Spritzer-1

The ingredients

I got my glass and put a couple of ice cubes in. Then I sliced up part of a lemon, a strawberry, and some raspberries, and put them in. Cutting the raspberries in half allows the raspberry flavor to mingle with the liquid.

Spritzer-2

Just add liquid!

I poured in half a glass of seltzer and half a glass of wine.

Spritzer-3

Looking good!

Finally, I added a leaf of mint to be crazy!

Sprizter-4

Yum yum!

Then I sat outside and tasted. Yummy! Too bad it was so hot and humid that I had to go inside about two minutes later!

Here’s a list of ingredients, in case you’re interested.

Ingredients

Lemon seltzer (preferably a brand without sugar)

Moscato wine

Strawberries

1/2 Lemon

Some raspberries

One mint leaf

Directions

Refrigerate ingredients until cold or chilled. Put a couple of ice cubes in a glass. Slice up the lemon and strawberry and put them in. Raspberries can go on the bottom or the top of the lemon/strawberries. Fill the glass 1/2 with seltzer and 1/2 with wine, and voilà! Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “The “flying by the seat of your pants” wine spritzer

Looking forward to your thoughts!

