Monday, June 8

Saturday I decided to take a day of rest. I went to Vanderbilt Mansion in Hyde Park with my dog and parked at the coach house entrance. This entrance starts at Crum Elbow Creek.

Crum Elbow Creek

Crum Elbow Creek

The park, unfortunately, has a lot of poison ivy in it.

A paean to poison ivy.

A paean to poison ivy.

My dog was anxious to start the trail (you can see the trail map on my page, “Trails I like”).

V - Ready to take the trail

My sheltie, charging ahead!

When she decides she wants a break, however, you can’t move her!

Resting in the shade

Resting in the shade

I would have gone running yesterday, but I was very busy – one of my aunts is in hospice with Alzheimer’s-related problems (she’s in a coma) and my cousin is in town to help out, so we’ve been spending a lot of time together.

Today I went running around 1.20 p.m. It was mostly cloudy and 76°F, with a humidity of 62 percent, a dewpoint of 62°F, and winds S 13 mph with gusts to 22 mph.

I walked for 3 minutes;
(ran for 2 minutes; walked for 1 minute) 10 times;
ran for 5 minutes;
then walked home for a total of 41 minutes.

Run time: 25 minutes

Walk time: 16 minutes

10 thoughts on “Monday, June 8

  1. Yeah! It’s amazing how little you can move a 30-pound dog when she doesn’t want to be moved! LOL

    I’ve actually been reading Russian to my aunt, because that was her first language. I don’t think she can hear me, but you never know. She was getting really really sick and we could all see it. I’m just hoping she doesn’t linger too long for my cousins’ and my uncle’s sakes. (I hope that doesn’t sound too callous, but there it is.)

  2. Hi, what a stunning park {apart from the poison ivy} and your dog not moving is just so funny {and I imagine a little frustrating!}

    I am so sorry to hear your Aunt is so unwell, that is really sad, it must be very hard for you and your family. How lovely that you are reading Russian to her…I am sure she can feel how much she is loved xx

    • I have to take a book with me when I walk her around the block – she LOVES to sniff! And sometimes she will not move until she’s done sniffing!

      This is going to sound crazy, but I’m glad my aunt is in a facility at the moment. My uncle had to be taken to the hospital about 4 months ago because he wasn’t taking care of himself (he was taking care of my aunt 24/7). Now he doesn’t need to worry about her at home, at least.

      • Your dog sounds wonderful, a real character! 🐶 it will be a lot easier on your uncle, as you say. Caring for someone all the time just gets too much. Take care all of you xxx

Looking forward to your thoughts!

