Thursday, April 23

I went out running around 2.30 p.m. It is mostly cloudy at 46 degrees F, with a wind chill of 41 degrees F.

I walked for 4 minutes;
ran for 27 minutes;
then walked home for a total of 33.5 minutes.

Run time: 27 minutes

Walk time: 6.5 minutes

I know I don’t share a great deal on this blog. The ups and downs of being unemployed are like a roller coaster. I was never one to dwell on what has happened in my childhood, but for some reason I’ve been wishing that we had never left Raleigh, North Carolina. I spent part of my childhood there, and we moved back to New York state while I was in grade school. Part of me thinks I’m just longing for the innocence of childhood, but part of me thinks my life would have been different if we’d stayed.

I still remember driving through Raleigh and seeing this view (specifically, the road and bridge):


This photo of Raleigh is courtesy of TripAdvisor.

and I remember visiting the Capitol.


This photo of Raleigh is courtesy of TripAdvisor.

The Raleigh of today is vastly different from the Raleigh I lived in. But I still remember it fondly.

2 thoughts on “Thursday, April 23

  1. I lived in a different city for 10 years (university and some years afterwards) and when I moved away, and went through rough times, I always said, “If only I hadn’t left it…life was so simple there and happy”.

    And then I went back, years later. And everything was completely different. To the point where “that place” no longer exists in reality. So it’s just my safe place that I go to in my head when I need it.

    Sounds like your Raleigh, NC.

    We all need our safe places – in real or in our heads.

Looking forward to your thoughts!

