Tuesday, March 24

I went running around 2.10 p.m. It was partly cloudy at 37 degrees F with a wind chill of 31 degrees F. I can’t wait for the days when I’m posting about the heat index!

I walked for 5 minutes;
ran for 22 minutes;
then walked home for a total of 30 minutes.

Run time: 22 minutes

Walk time: 8 minutes

So, I’ve seen a lot of something recently that I’ve noticed before, although usually not this much. I’ve seen people running in the road. Now, there are sidewalks nearby, and there is nothing wrong with the sidewalk – no snow blocking the sidewalk, no trip zones, nothing. Why do people do this? I can understand if the sidewalk isn’t level or needs repair, but I don’t understand why people would risk being hit by a car (especially given the speeding I usually see from local drivers). Any suggestions?

Picture of the day!

From Morguefile.com by user Smadar.

From Morguefile.com by user Smadar.

5 thoughts on “Tuesday, March 24

  1. I think some people believe asphalt isn’t as hard on the body/joints as running on concrete. I think that a good pair of running shoes negates the small difference in each surface.

    I can’t wait until we’re complaining about the heat index!! Lol

  2. Interesting thought! I’ll admit, I prefer the road over the sidewalk. I don’t do it a lot because I live in Tampa and drivers out here are maniacs. 😉 I think my preference is based on: 1) I almost feel freer in the road, and 2) (don’t laugh) I feel I’m less likely to come into close contact with a snake in the road.

    Yeah, so there you have it… I’m crazy! 😉 In all fairness, I do get the majority of my outdoor runs in in a part of Tampa where the sidewalks are so wide, I don’t even think about the road.

Looking forward to your thoughts!

