Monday, March 9 – Hallelujah!

Today is a gold star day for me!

gold-star-md

I went running outside! Woo hoo! There’s another reason for the gold star, which I’ll mention below.

I decided to take a rest day yesterday because my ankle felt weak (trying to run too hard on treadmill, probably!). I spent the day shoveling snow off the front walk. Today I began to work on the ice (note the lack of ice by the side of the house, on the left side of the picture).

This is the front walkway.

Ice n snow new1

See that red square? That’s our portable mailbox, which we’ve had to use 3 out of the last 5 winters. Sad!

Here’s the front of the driveway (I’m on my porch):

Ice n snow2

I can’t wait for it to be all gone! You probably can’t see it, but there’s an extra foot or two of snow past the actual curb.

Anyways, it was beautiful out today!

Weather 2015.03 09

I didn’t even need to wear a jacket! Just two long-sleeved shirts! And thanks to Cetaphil, my chapped face is getting better!

I took it easy today (i.e., small steps) because I wanted to be able to run the same amount I’ve been running this past week.

I walked for 5 minutes;
ran for 20 minutes;
then walked for a total of 30 minutes.

Run time: 20 minutes

Walk time: 10 minutes

So, why the gold star? I began this blog in May 2013. Since I’ve started, I’ve been unable to run for one straight period of time. This is the first time I’ve run outside that I was able to sustain 20 minutes without a break. Hurrah!

From Morguefile.com by user Prawny.

From Morguefile.com by user Prawny.

7 thoughts on “Monday, March 9 – Hallelujah!

Looking forward to your thoughts!

