Thursday, January 1 – New Year’s Day

Happy new year, everyone!

I went running around 2.15 p.m.It was mostly sunny and 36 degrees F, with a wind chill of 27 degrees F (although it was chillier just an hour ago).

I walked for 8 minutes;
ran for 3.5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 3.5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 3.5 minutes; walked for 1 minute;
ran for 3.5 minutes;
then walked home for a total of 31 minutes.

Run time: 14 minutes

Walk time: 17 minutes

I know others have recapped their year on their blogs; frankly, mine wasn’t so great. I Run in the Rain had a great blog post about her year, so I’m copying her list technique.

1. It snowed more in the winter of (2013-)2014 than I ever remember.
2. I slipped down the stairs and landed on a stair on my lower back in February (relevant because it still hurts after I run).
3. I went a new, wonderful doctor.
4. The new, wonderful doctor found out I had a thyroid condition and has stabilized it with medication.
5. The cats turned a year old in April.
6. My husband received his permanent green card (yay!).
7. Our dog turned 10 years old this year.
8. We found out that my aunt has advanced Alzheimer’s disease.
9. I got a new car.
10. I went on vacation with my family to the beach.
11. I found out on vacation that our company had been sold and we would all be out of jobs in November.
12. I turned 49 years old.
13. I met my cousin’s wife, who is a wonderful person.
14. I was laid off October 31, but not before we had a nice send-off party at the Ritz-Carlton.
15. I discovered that a family friend is really there for me, and I am very grateful.
16. I no longer have a two+ hour a day commute.
17. I began running steadily again in November.
18. I stopped drinking wine as much as I had (reasons: weight gain, blood sugar problems, no money).
19. I lost weight!
20. Even though I haven’t reached 30 minutes of running, it feels pretty good!

So, thank you, Charlotte, for making me see that last year is not as bad as it seemed.

11 thoughts on “Thursday, January 1 – New Year’s Day

  1. Your look back at your past year shows how whether we consider our years good or bad, what we find is they are mixed with both. I’m sorry about your back injury and jealous about your new car and beach vacation. Running makes everything seem just a little better, I think. 🙂

    • FYI – both the car and the vacation were courtesy of my parents. My old car kept breaking down, but I couldn’t afford a new one. 😦 They didn’t want me breaking down 1 hour from home. Incredibly, that was one of the things I beat myself up about when I found out I was losing my job. I’ve come a long way since I discovered I had depression, but I’ve had those thought patterns since I was a little girl. Your post made me realize that things aren’t so bad after all! Thank you.

  2. I love your reflections and wish you a wonderful 2015!! I have a feeling it’s going to be a fabulous year for you!! You’re an amazing person!! I have confidence you can achieve anything you set your mind to!! I love your dedication to walking and running!! So wonderful!! XOXO

Looking forward to your thoughts!

